The College of New Jersey

Apply     Visit     Give     |     Alumni     Parents     Offices     TCNJ Today     

Colloquia & Speaker Series

Fall 2018

School of Science Colloquium Series – Fall 2018

 

Date:         September 25, 2018 (Tues.)
Time:         12:30 – 1:30 pm
Location:   Ed 212

“The Great Epidemic, 100 Years Later”

Gina Kolata, New York Times writer and best-selling author


Date:         October 2, 2018 (Tues.)
Time:         12:30 – 1:30 pm
Location:   Education 212

(R)evolution? The Future of Computer Simulation of Matter

Alán Aspuru-Guzik, Professor of Chemistry and Computer Science, University of Toronto


Date:         October 23, 2018 (Tues.)
Time:         12:30 – 1:30 pm
Location:   P 101
School of Science Faculty Research Colloquium

Tamika Royal-Thomas, Mathematics and Statistics
Zaara Sarwar, Biology


Date:         November 27, 2018 (Tues.)
Time:         12:30 – 1:30 pm
Location:   P 101

School of Science Faculty Research Colloquium

Tracy Kress, Biology
Sharif Mohammad Shahnewaz Ferdouz, Computer Science

 

TCNJ-Novo Nordisk Lecture Series – Fall 2018

Date:          October 12, 2018 (Fri.)
Time:          12:00 – 1:30 pm

  • Lunch Reception: 12:00 – 12:30 pm
  • Lecture: 12:30 – 1:15 pm
  • Q&A and Discussion: 1:15 – 1:30 pm

Location:   Education 212

Understanding How ‘Real World’ Data Help Improve Patient Outcomes

Dr. Rahul Ganguly, Executive Director of Health Economics Outcomes Research and Data Analytics, Novo Nordisk, Inc.

 

Biology Colloquium Series – Fall 2018

 

Date:         October 26, 2018 (Fri.)
Time:         12:30 – 1:30 pm
Location:   P 101

How Microbial Sequencing Solves Hospital Mysteries

Dr. Tara Palmore, Hospital Epidemiologist, NIH Clinical Center


Date:         November 9, 2018 (Fri.)
Time:         12:30 – 1:30 pm
Location:   P 101

Fats in My Muscle? How Myocellular Lipids Contribute to Pathologies

Dr. Mitchell Sitnick, TCNJ Alum, Assistant Professor of Biology, Montclair University


Date:         November 16, 2018 (Fri.)
Time:         12:30 – 1:30 pm
Location:   P 101

The Greatest Generation: The Pollen Lifecycle in Aquatic Plants

Dr. Mackenzie L. Taylor, Creighton University

 

Chemistry Colloquium Series – Fall 2018

 

Date:         September 13, 2018 (Thurs.)
Time:         3:30 – 4:30 pm
Location:   C 121

Using Spectroscopy and Chemometrics to Address the Global Challenge of Access to Clean Water

Dr. Todd Pagano, Rochester Institute of Technology, National Technical Institute for the Deaf


Date:         October 2, 2018 (Tues.)
Time:         12:30 – 1:30 pm
Location:   Education 212

(R)evolution? The Future of Computer Simulation of Matter

Alán Aspuru-Guzik, Professor of Chemistry and Computer Science, University of Toronto

 

Computer Science Colloquium Series – Fall 2018

 

 


Date:         September 18, 2018 (Tues.)
Time:         12:30 – 1:30 pm
Location:   P 101


Date:         October 2, 2018 (Tues.)
Time:         12:30 – 1:30 pm
Location:   Education 212

(R)evolution? The Future of Computer Simulation of Matter

Alán Aspuru-Guzik, Professor of Chemistry and Computer Science, University of Toronto


Date:         November 2, 2018 (Fri.)
Time:         12:30 – 1:30 pm
Location:   TBD

Sharif Mohammad Shahnewaz Ferdous


Date:         November 20, 2018 (Tues.)
Time:         12:30 – 1:30 pm
Location:   TBD

Davide Schaumann

Mathematics and Statistics Colloquium Series – Fall 2018

 

Date:         September 7, 2018 (Fri.)
Time:         12:30 – 1:30 pm
Location:   P 229

Mathematical modeling of the development of T cells in neonatal mice

Edward Lee, PhD., Albert Einstein College of Medicine


Date:         September 26, 2018 (Wed.)
Time:         11:00 – 11:50am
Location:   SCP 230


Date:         October 9, 2018 (Tues.)
Time:         12:30 – 1:30 pm
Location:   SCP 229

 

Physics Colloquium Series – Fall 2018

 

Date:         October 2, 2018 (Tues.)
Time:         12:30 – 1:30 pm
Location:   Education 212

(R)evolution? The Future of Computer Simulation of Matter

Alán Aspuru-Guzik, Professor of Chemistry and Computer Science, University of Toronto


Date:         October 19, 2018 (Fri.)
Time:         12:30 – 1:30 pm
Location:    TBD

Mitchell Revalski, Georgia State University


Date:         November 6, 2018 (Tues.)
Time:         12:30 – 1:30 pm
Location:    TBD

TBD


Date:         November 16, 2018 (Fri.)
Time:         12:30 – 1:30 pm
Location:    TBD

TBD


Spring 2019

School of Science Colloquium Series – Spring 2019

Date:         February 26, 2019 (Tues.)
Time:         12:30 – 1:30 pm
Location:   TBD

TBD


Date:         March 26, 2019 (Tues.)
Time:         12:30 – 1:30 pm
Location:   TBD

TBD


TCNJ-Novo Nordisk Lecture Series – Spring 2019

Date:          February 19, 2019 (Tues.)
Time:         12:00 – 1:30 pm
(Lunch Reception & Lecture)

Location:   Education 212

Cardiovascular disease and diabetes

 

Biology Colloquium Series – Spring 2019


Date:         February 8, 2019 (Fri.)
Time:         12:30 – 1:30 pm
Location:   P 101

Dr. Craig Lowe, Assistant Professor, Department of Molecular Genetics and Microbiology, Duke University


Date:         February 22, 2019 (Fri.)
Time:        12:30 – 1:30 pm
Location:   TBD

TBD


Date:         March 8, 2019 (Fri.)
Time:        12:30 – 1:30 pm
Location:   TBD

TBD


Date:         April 12, 2019 (Fri.)
Time:        12:30 – 1:30 pm
Location:   TBD

TBD


Date:         April 26, 2019 (Fri.)
Time:        12:30 – 1:30 pm
Location:   TBD

Dr. Lena Struwe, Professor, Department of Ecology, Evolution, and Natural Resources and Department of Plant Biology, Rutgers University


 

Chemistry Colloquium Series – Spring 2019

 

Date:         February 6, 2019 (Wed.)
Time:         11:00 – 11:50 am
Location:   TBD

TBD


Date:         February 20, 2019 (Wed.)
Time:         11:00 – 11:50 am
Location:   TBD

TBD


Date:         March 6, 2019 (Wed.)
Time:         11:00 – 11:50 am
Location:   TBD

TBD


Date:         April 3, 2019 (Wed.)
Time:         11:00 – 11:50 am
Location:   TBD

TBD


Date:         April 17, 2019 (Wed.)
Time:         11:00 – 11:50 am
Location:   TBD

TBD

Computer Science Colloquium Series – Spring 2019

 

Date:         February 1, 2019 (Fri.)
Time:         12:30 – 1:30 pm
Location:   TBD

TBD


Date:         February 19, 2019 (Tues.)
Time:         12:30 – 1:30 pm
Location:   TBD

TBD


Date:         March 1, 2019 (Fri.)
Time:         12:30 – 1:30 pm
Location:   TBD

TBD

 


Date:         April 5, 2019 (Fri.)
Time:         12:30 – 1:30 pm
Location:   TBD

TBD


Date:         April 16, 2019 (Fri.)
Time:         12:30 – 1:30 pm
Location:   TBD

TBD

Mathematics and Statistics Colloquium Series – Spring 2019

 

 


Date:         February 12, 2019 (Tues.)
Time:         12:30 – 1:30pm
Location:   TBD

TBD


Date:         February 27, 2019 (Wed.)
Time:         11:00 – 11:50am
Location:   TBD

TBD


Date:         March 12, 2019 (Tues.)
Time:         12:30 – 1:30 pm
Location:   TBD

TBD


Date:         March 27, 2019 (Wed.)
Time:         11:00 – 11:50am
Location:   TBD

TBD


Date:         April 9, 2019 (Tues.)
Time:         12:30 – 1:30 pm
Location:   TBD

TBD


Date:         April 24, 2019 (Wed.)
Time:         11:00 – 11:50am
Location:   TBD

TBD


 

 

Physics Colloquium Series – Spring 2019

 

 

Date:         February 5, 2019 (Tues.)
Time:         12:30 – 1:30 pm
Location:   TBD

TBD


Date:         February 15, 2019 (Fri.)
Time:         12:30 – 1:30 pm
Location:   TBD

TBD


Date:         March 5, 2019 (Tues.)
Time:         12:30 – 1:30 pm
Location:   TBD

TBD


Date:         April 2, 2019 (Tues.)
Time:         12:30 – 1:30 pm
Location:   TBD

TBD


Date:         April 19, 2019 (Fri.)
Time:         12:30 – 1:30 pm
Location:   TBD

TBD

Working as a Radiation Physicist:  From Radioactive Seed Implantation for Cancer Treatment to the Development of Radon Exposure Limits for Homeowner Safety

Dr. Kay-Uwe Kasch, Beuth University of Applied Sciences-Berlin

[/two_third_last]

 

 

Past Seminars/Colloquia Schedule

Top