The College of New Jersey Logo

Apply     Visit     Give     |     Alumni     Parents     Offices     TCNJ Today     Three Bar Menu

School of Science Students Inducted into National Honor Societies

On April 19 and 28, 2016, 44 juniors and seniors from the School of Science students were inducted into two premiere national honor societies. Phi Beta Kappa is the nation’s oldest academic honor society and Phi Kappa Phi is the oldest all-discipline honor society in the United States.

Phi Beta Kappa Inductees


Name Major
Syndi Barish Biology and Mathematics
Kevin Bazer Mathematics
William Buchbinder Chemistry
Rachel Dalafave Physics
Andrew Glass Chemistry
Andrew Goldfarb Biology
Brandon Gottlob Computer Science
Gloria Han Mathematics
Willian Hua Computer Science
Alana Huszar Mathematics
Elizabeth Johnson Chemistry
Nikitha Karkala Biology
Conor Kelton Computer Science and Mathematics
Dongyoung Kim Biology
Susan Knox Chemistry
Mia Kunitomo Chemistry
Farrah Liu Biology
Vincent Longo Mathematics
Natella Maglakelidze Biology
Amit Manjunath Biology
Dylan McClung Biology
Lea Palacios Chemistry
Luke Pasick Biology
Jacob Perlman Biology
Haley Poquette Biology
Rebecca Roberts Mathematics
Katarina Rose Mathematics
Andrew Ruff Chemistry
Joseph Ruffo Mathematics
Rebecca Shaber Mathematics
Justin Shaffer Biology
Ami Shah Biology
John Stansfield Biology
Michael Vermeuel Chemistry
Matthew Zajac Chemistry
Marianna Caruso-Gilbert Physics
Katherine Badecker Biology
Benjamin Castor Mathematics
Cody Combs Physics
Pierce Cooper Physics
Marcus Elias Biology
Shawn Flynn Mathematics
Paloma Hauser Mathematics
Nikita Jhawar Biology
Courtney Johnson Mathematics
Katrice Karanfilian Biology
Emilie Soyeon Kim Biology
Grace Lugo Biology
Pratheek Mangini Biology
Sara Martin Chemistry
Zonia Menendez Mathematics
Maria Minor Chemistry
Paul Mitchell Biology
Summer Nestorowicz Biology
Kellie Olear Physics
Anshu Patel Mathematics
Rebecca Santorella Mathematics
Sapna Shah Biology
Julian Sison Biology
Tanya Townsend Chemistry
Mitchell Vaughn Biology

Phi Beta Kappa celebrates and advocates excellence in the liberal arts and sciences. The society sponsors activities to advance these studies — the humanities, the social sciences, and the natural sciences — in higher education and in society at large. Typically, no more than 10 percent of the candidates for degrees in liberal arts and sciences are elected. Each year, about one college senior in a hundred, nationwide, is invited to join Phi Beta Kappa.

Phi Kappa Phi Inductees


Name Major
Brittany Celeste Drake Biology
Kylie Erin Gorman Computer Science
Brandon Gottlob Computer Science
Michael Patrick Hughes Biology
Erik Louis Johnson Mathematics
Vincent Frederick Longo Mathematics
Natella Maglakelidze Biology
William McDermott Chemistry
Lea Palacios Chemistry
Robert Preuss Computer Science
Justin Shaffer Biology
Julian Sison Biology
Syndi Barish Biology and Mathematics
Marc Casale Chemistry
Benjamin Casto Mathematics
Brittany Elsasser Mathematics
Alexandra Falcone Mathematics
Shawn Flynn Mathematics
Katherine Fomchenko Chemistry
Andrew Glass Chemistry
Nikita Jhawar Biology
Susan Knox Chemistry
Sara Martin Chemistry
Zonia Karina Menendez Mathematics
Dylan Nguyen Chemistry
Emily Notaro Mathematics
Michael Pines Mathematics
Anthony Rappa Mathematics
Frank Santisi Biology
Tanya Townsend Chemistry
David Weinberg Biology

To be eligible for membership in a Phi Kappa Phi Chapter a student must be an outstanding student of sound character. Juniors must have completed 72 credit hours and rank in the top 7.5% of their class. Seniors must rank in the top 10% of their class.


Science Complex, P105
The College of New Jersey
P.O. Box 7718
2000 Pennington Rd.
Ewing, NJ 08628