The College of New Jersey Logo

Apply     Visit     Give     |     Alumni     Parents     Offices     TCNJ Today     Three Bar Menu

Applications Requested for Barry M. Goldwater Scholarships

Exceptional TCNJ sophomore and junior students who intend to pursue a Ph.D. or M.D./Ph.D. in science, mathematics, or engineering are encouraged to apply for Barry M. Goldwater Scholarships.  The scholarship, which provides $7,500 per year for up to two years, is highly prestigious.  Therefore, even those students with full scholarships are encouraged to apply.  Applicants will be evaluated based upon academic excellence, evidence of service and leadership, student research involvement (although this is not expected for sophomore applicants), and the student’s statement of his/her future research goals.

The national-level Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship Program was created to encourage outstanding students to pursue careers in mathematics, the natural sciences, or engineering and to foster excellence in those fields.   Each year, the Goldwater foundation awards 300 scholarships nationwide.  As a result of the high quality of student-scholars at TCNJ, our nominees have recently been quite successful in winning recognition.  Congratulations to the TCNJ awardees listed below.

Eligible applicants should be sophomores or juniors in science, mathematics, or engineering who intend to pursue a Ph.D. or M.D./Ph.D.  The minimum GPA is 3.0.  However, only students with a GPA above 3.7 are considered to be nationally competitive for the scholarship.  Again, the most important aspect of the award is its prestige, not its monetary value.  Many graduate programs actively pursue applicants who are Goldwater recipients.

If interested, please contact TCNJ’s representative, Dr. Michelle Bunagan ( of the Department of Chemistry for more information.  Further information and application materials can also be found at


  • Notification of intent to apply is requested by October 5.
  • A draft application is due November 2.

Previous Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship Recipients from TCNJ

Year TCNJ Goldwater Scholar Major(s)
1999 Michael Verzi Biology
2001 Vijay Bhoj Biology
2003 Christopher Tanner Biology
2004 Katherine Uyhazi

Michael Massimi


Computer Science (Honorable Mention)

2005 Krzystof Glomski

Michael Green

Biology and Chemistry

Biology and Chemistry

2006 Brandon S. Bentzley Physics
2008 Glen Wilson Mathematics and Statistics (Honorable Mention)
2009 Sara Jackrel

Glen Wilson


Mathematics and Statistics

2010 Jennifer Urban Chemistry and Mathematics
2011 Edward Lee

Daniel Markowski

Mathematics and Biology (Honorable Mention)

Biology (Honorable Mention)

2012 Tyler Higgins

Frank Stabile

Teddy Sudol

Chemistry and Applied Math (Honorable Mention)

Biology (Honorable Mention)

Computer Science (Honorable Mention)

2013 Syndi Barish

Andrew Goldfarb

Daniel Chawla

Dylan McClung

Biology and Mathematics


Biology (Honorable Mention)

Biology (Honorable Mention)

2014 Alana Huszar

Susan Knox

Andrew Ruff

Jenna Krizan

Mathematics and Statistics

Chemistry (Honorable Mention)

Chemistry (Honorable Mention)

Psychology (Honorable Mention)


Science Complex, P105
The College of New Jersey
P.O. Box 7718
2000 Pennington Rd.
Ewing, NJ 08628