Apply     Visit     Give     |     Alumni     Parents     Offices     TCNJ Today     

Colloquia & Speaker Series

Spring 2017

School of Science Colloquium Series – Spring 2017

Feb. 3, 2017 (Fri.)

  • 12:30 – 1:30 pm
  • Mayo Concert Hall
Special Science-Art Brown Bag Lecture:

Exploring the Sensory World of Bees through Science and Art – Anne Leonard, University of Nevada, Reno

Feb. 28, 2017 (Tues.)

  • 12:30 – 1:30 pm
  • SCP – 101
SoS Guest Colloquium and Special Campus-Wide, Science Themed Lunch – Nyree Zerega, Northwestern university and Chicago Botanic Garden
Mar. 28, 2017 (Tues.)

  • 12:30 – 1:30 pm
  • SCP- 101
Sos Faculty Research Colloquium

  • Luke Butler, Biology
  • Michael Bloodgood, Computer Science
Apr. 25, 2017 (Fri.)

  • 12:30 – 1:30 pm
  • SCP- 101
SoS Faculty Research Colloquium

  • Rachel Snider, Mathematics & Statistics
  • Sejong Yoon, Computer Science

Biology Colloquium Series – Spring 2017

Feb. 3, 2017 (Fri.)

  • 12:30 – 1:30 pm
  • Mayo Concert Hall
Special Science-Art Brown Bag Lecture:

Exploring the Sensory World of Bees through Science and Art – Anne Leonard, University of Nevada, Reno

Jan. 27, 2017 (Fri.)

  • 12:30 – 1:30 pm
  • TBD
Alita Miller, “Emerging Antibiotic Resistance”
Feb. 10, 2017 (Fri.)

  • 12:30 – 1:30 pm
  • TBD
Brittany Graf, Rutgers University – Exploration of therapeutic properties of Latin American plants through a community-building approach
Feb. 24, 2017 (Fri.)

  • 12:30 – 1:30 pm
  • TBD
Rob Kulathinal, Temple University
Mar. 10, 2017 (Fri.)

  • 12:30 – 1:30 pm
  • TBD
Rebecca Lyczak, Ursinis University – “Uncovering the role of the centrosome in polarization of the C. elegans embryo
Mar. 24, 2017 (Fri.)

  • 12:30 – 1:30 pm
  • TBD
Lisa Kozlowski, Dr. Dalvia, Thomas Jefferson University
Apr. 14, 2017 (Fri.)

  • 12:30 – 1:30 pm
  • TBD
TBD
Apr. 28, 2017 (Fri.) TriBeta Induction

Chemistry Colloquium Series – Spring 2017

Feb. 1, 2017 (Wed.)

  • 11:00 – 11:50 am
  • TBD
TBD
Mar. 1, 2017 (Wed.)

  • 11:00 – 11:50 am
  • TBD
TBD
Apr. 5, 2017 (Wed.)

  • 11:00 – 11:50 am
  • TBD
TBD
Apr. 19, 2017 (Wed.)

  • 11:00 – 11:50 am
  • TBD
TBD

Computer Science Colloquium Series – Spring 2017

Feb. 3, 2017 (Fri.)

  • 12:30 – 1:30 pm
  • TBD
Dr. Steven Skiena, Distinguished Teaching Professor of Computer Science at Stony Brook University
Feb. 21, 2017 (Tues.)

  • 12:30 – 1:30 pm
  • TBD
TBD
Mar. 3, 2017 (Fri.)

  • 12:30 – 1:30 pm
  • TBD
TBD
Mar. 21, 2017 (Tues.)

  • 12:30 – 1:30 pm
  • TBD
TBD
Apr. 7, 2017 (Fri.)

  • 12:30 – 1:30 pm
  • TBD
TBD
Apr. 18, 2017 (Tues.)

  • 12:30 – 1:30 pm
  • TBD
TBD

Mathematics and Statistics Colloquium Series – Spring 2017

Jan. 25, 2017 (Wed.)

  • 11:00 – 11:50 am
  • TBD
TBD
Feb. 14, 2017 (Tues.)

  • 12:30 – 1:30 pm
  • TBD
TBD
Feb. 22, 2017 (Wed.)

  • 11:00 – 11:50 am
  • TBD
TBD
Mar. 22, 2017 (Wed.)

  • 11:00 – 11:50 am
  • TBD
TBD
Apr. 11, 2017 (Tues.)

  • 12:30 – 1:30 pm
  • TBD
TBD
Apr. 26, 2017 (Weds.)

  • 11:00 – 11:50 am
  • TBD
TBD

Physics Colloquium Series – Spring 2017

Feb. 7, 2017 (Tues.)

  • 12:30 – 1:30 pm
  • TBD
TBD
Feb. 17, 2017 (Fri.)

  • 12:30 – 1:30 pm
  • TBD
TBD
Mar. 7, 2017 (Tues.)

  • 12:30 – 1:30 pm
  • TBD
TBD
Apr. 4, 2017 (Tues.)

  • 12:30 – 1:30 pm
  • TBD
TBD
Apr. 21, 2017 (Fri.)

  • 12:30 – 1:30 pm
  • TBD
TBD

 

Fall 2016

School of Science Colloquium Series – Fall 2016

Sept. 27, 2016 (Tues.)

  • 12:30 – 1:30 pm
  • ED- 212
Dr. Lynden A. Archer, Robert Frederick Smith School of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering, Cornell University, Ithaca, NY – “Lithium Metal Batteries for High Energy Storage Devices”
Oct. 12, 2016 (Wed.)

  • 3:00 – 4:00 pm
  • SCP- 101
Special Presentation – Dr. Kelly Hogan, University of North Carolina- Chapel Hill- “Including Everyone in Learning in the Science Classroom”
Oct. 25, 2016 (Tues.)

  • 12:30 – 1:30 pm
  • SCP- 101
 Faculty Research Colloquium – High-Performance Computing (HPC) across the School of Science

  • Dr. Jeffery Osborn, School of Science, TCNJ
  • Mr. Shawn Sivy, School of Science, TCNJ
  • Dr. Joseph Baker, Chemistry, TCNJ
  • Dr. Michael Ochs, Mathematics and Statistics, TCNJ
  • Dr. Wendy Clement, Biology, TCNJ
  • Dr. Nathan Magee, Physics, TCNJ
  • Dr. Jikai Li, Computer Science, TCNJ
Nov. 22, 2016 (Tues.)

  • 12:30 – 1:30 pm
  • SCP- 101
 Faculty Research Colloquium – Sabbatical Presentations

  • Dr. Benny Chan, Chemistry, TCNJ
  • Dr. Leeann Thornton, Biology, TCNJ

Biology Colloquium Series – Fall 2016

Sept. 9, 2016 (Fri.)

  • 12:30 – 1:30 pm
  • SCP – 101
 TBA
Sept. 23, 2016 (Fri.)

  • 12:30  – 1:30 pm
  • SCP – 101
 Holly Ramage, University of Pennsylvania Medical School – “Discovery of Novel Host Factors Important for Viral Infection
Oct. 14, 2016 (Fri.)

  • 12:30 – 1:30 pm
  • SCP – 101
TBA
Oct. 28, 2016 (Fri.)

  • 12:30 – 1:30 pm
  • SCP – 101
Lynda Delph, Indiana University Department of Biology – “Sexual dimorphism in a dioecious plant: patterns, selection, and sexual antagonism”
Nov. 11, 2016 (Fri.)

  • 12:30 – 1:30 pm
  • SCP – 101
Daniel Rittschof, Duke University Marine Lab, Nicholas School of the Environment – “Barnacle Biology”
Nov. 25, 2016 (Fri.)

  • 12:30 – 1:30 pm
  • SCP – 101
 TBA

Chemistry Colloquium Series – Fall 2016

Sept.  21, 2016 (Wed.)

  • 11:00 am – 11:50 am
  • C-121
CANCELLED – Dr. Amy Sarjeant, Outreach and Education Manager at The Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre

Area – Crystallography

This event has been cancelled.

Oct. 5, 2016 (Wed.)

  • 11:00 am – 11:50 am
  • C-121
Dr. George Heard, University of North Carolina – Asheville – “Applications of Computational Chemistry to Experimental Design”

Area – computational, inorganic

Oct. 19, 2016 (Wed.)

  • 11:00 am – 11:50 am
  • C-121
Dr. Monika Raj, Seton Hall University – “Selective Chemical Modification of Peptides and Its Applications”

Area – bioorganic chemistry

Nov. 2, 2016 (Wed.)

  • 11:00 am – 11:50 am
  • C-121
Dr. Martin McCullagh, Colorado State University – “The Physics Behind the Hydrophobic Effect”
Area – computational chemistry
Nov. 16, 2016 (Wed.)

  • 11:00 am – 11:50 am
  • C-121
 Dr. Kelsey Van Gelder, Merck, TCNJ Alumna

Area – Organic , industry

Computer Science Colloquium Series – Fall 2016

Sept. 20, 2016 (Tues.)

  • 12:30 – 1:30 pm
  • ED 115
 Babak Saleh, PhD candidate in Computer Science at Rutgers University – “Artistic AI: Analyzing Visual Culture Through the Eyes of a Machine
Oct. 7, 2016 (Fri.)

  • 12:30 – 1:30 pm
  • ED 115
 TBA
Oct. 18, 2016 (Tues.)

  • 12:30 – 1:30 pm
  • ED 115
 Dr. Amanda Stent, natural language processing researcher at Bloomberg
Nov. 4, 2016 (Fri.)

  • 12:30 – 1:30 pm
  • ED 115
 TBA
Nov. 15, 2016 (Tue.)

  • 12:30 – 1:30 pm
  • ED 115
Jeanna Matthews, Associate Professor of Computer Science at Clarkson University, ACM Distinguished Speaker – “Big Data? Big Promise, Big Problems”

Mathematics and Statistics Colloquium Series – Fall 2016

Sept. 16, 2016 (Fri.)

  • 12:30 – 1:30 pm
  • SCP- 229
 Fred Rickey, Professor Emeritus, West Point Academy – “E228”

Sept. 21, 2016 (Wed.)

  • 2:30 – 4:00 pm
  • SCP- 223
 “Mathematics Education Faculty Panel”

  • Dr. Bob Cunningham, Professor
  • Dr. Cathy Liebars, Associate Chair and Associate Professor
  • Dr. James Beyers, Assistant Professor
  • Dr. Rachel Snider, Assistant Professor
  • Dr. Suriza Vandersandt, Associate Professor
Sept. 28, 2016 (Wed.)

  • 11:00 – 11:50 pm
  • SCP- 229
 REU Experiences

  • Ethan Crasto, University of Maryland, Baltimore County – “Enhanced Data Exploration and Visualization Tool for Large Spatio-Temporal Climate Data”
  • Melissa Martin, Carnegie Mellon University – “Applying Statistics to Forensic Evidence”
  • Rebecca Santorella, Brown University – “Equation-Free Variable-Free Modeling”
  • Ursula Widocki, Rutgers-Camden – “Using the JAR to Express Stochastic Resonance”
Sept. 28, 2016 (Wed.)

  • 1:00 – 4:30 pm
  • SCP- 229
 2nd Math Teacher Alumni Symposium

An afternoon full of presentations by former students who are not math teachers as well as some faculty speakers!

Please email Dr. Liebars (leibars@tcnj.edu) by September 23 is you plan to attend for all or part of the afternoon.

Oct. 28, 2016 (Wed.)

  • 11:00 – 11:50 pm
  • SCP- 224
 Mathematics Education Student Research Talks

  • Siddhi Desai, with Dr. Farshid Safi (Summer 2015)
  • Kayla Begen, with Dr. Cathy Liebars (Fall 2016)
  • Sarah Clooney, with Dr. Bob Cunningham (Fall 2016)
  • Melissa Meddleton, Teagan Nurnbeger, Siddhi Desai, with Dr. Suriza Vandersandt (Spring – Fall 2016)
Nov. 4, 2016 (Fri.)

  • 12:30 – 1:30 pm
  • SCP- 229
  • Workshop: 3:30 – 5:00 (SCP-224)
Joseph O’ Rourke, Olin Professor of Computer Science; Professor of Mathematics, Director of the  Statistical and Data Mining Program, Smith College – “How to fold it: the mathematics of Linkages, Origami and Polyhedra”
Nov. 30, 2016 (Wed.)

  • 1:00 – 2:00 pm
  • SCP- 229
 Dr. Cathy Liebars, EdTPA- What is it? How will it affect your student teaching evaluation process?

Physics Colloquium Series – Fall 2016

Sept. 16, 2016 (Fri.)

  • 12:30 – 1:30 pm
  • SCP 317
  Summer Research Experiences
Oct. 4, 2016 (Tues.)

  • 12:30 – 1:30 pm
  • SCP 317
Oct. 21, 2016 (Fri.)

  • 12:30 – 1:30 pm
  • SCP 317
 Michael Ambyth, Edmund Optics
Nov. 1, 2016 (Tues.)

  • 12:30 – 1:30 pm
  • SCP 317

 Dr. Craig Kletzing, University of Iowa

Stormy (Space) Weather: An “Emfisis” on the Radiation Belt Storm Probes

Nov. 18, 2016 (Fri.)

  • 12:30 – 1:30 pm
  • SCP 317
 Stephanie Thomas, Princeton Satellite Systems

 

Past Seminars/Colloquia Schedule

Top