Apply     Visit     Give     |     Alumni     Parents     Offices     TCNJ Today     

School of Science Students Inducted into National Honor Societies

On April 23 and 24, 2014, 32 juniors and seniors from the School of Science students were inducted into two premiere national honor societies.  Phi Beta Kappa is the nation’s oldest academic honor society and Phi Kappa Phi is the oldest all-discipline honor society in the United States.


Phi Beta Kappa Inductees


Name Major
Anginelle Alabanza Chemistry
Alexa Cain Computer Science
Victoria Calafut Physics
Joseph Canero Computer Science
Daniel Chawla Biology
William Coffey Biology
Gabrielle Dominguez Biology
Nicholas Erickson Physics
Daniel Ferrer Biology
Tyler Higgins Chemistry and Mathematics
Sarah Hirsh Biology
Madeleine Hu Biology
Thomas Kearns Biology
Taylor Maney Chemistry
William McDermott Chemistry
Andrew Miller Physics
Pooja Padgaonkar Biology
Prashanth Palvannan Biology
Kush Patel Biology
Sean Safari Computer Science
Shreya Shah Biology
John Speigel Biology and Chemistry
Colleen Stalter Biology
Ragha Suresh Biology
Alyse Volino Biology

Phi Beta Kappa celebrates and advocates excellence in the liberal arts and sciences. The society sponsors activities to advance these studies — the humanities, the social sciences, and the natural sciences — in higher education and in society at large.  Typically, no more than 10 percent of the candidates for degrees in liberal arts and sciences are elected. Each year, about one college senior in a hundred, nationwide, is invited to join Phi Beta Kappa.


Phi Kappa Phi Inductees


Name Major
Marco Sebastian Amaral Chemistry
Matthew Galinsky Mathematics
Elizabeth Johnson Chemistry and Psychology
Thomas Kearns Chemistry and Biology
Maria Mostyka Biology and English
Michael Muller Mathematics
Alyse Volino Biology

 To be eligible for membership in a Phi Kappa Phi Chapter a student must be an outstanding student of sound character.  Juniors must have completed 72 credit hours and rank in the top 7.5% of their class. Seniors must rank in the top 10% of their class.